Best Video Games of 2012

By decree of the Emperor, let these be the BEST VIDEO GAMES OF 2012! If I had a drum roll, it would be like a Gojira or Fear Factory style pummeling one.

ME3

  • Mass Effect 3 (Extended Cut) – Not gonna have much (if any) agreement here, but this is my favourite game of 2012. And yes, the ending was a travesty. However, this is the final piece of this original story which is one of the best sci-fi franchises to date. The gameplay was refined to be the best of the series in ME3 and I’ve enjoyed multiple replays. I also have to base my review of this on the extended cut version. I am thankful that Bioware released the update in response to the audience uproar over the original ending. The ending still isn’t what I want it to be, but I’m satisfied with it and love this game and series. It was also pretty fucking cool that Vancouver was in the game!
  • Far Cry 3 – If I didn’t have such a hard-on for ME3, this would be my #1 for this year. I haven’t even finished my first playthrough but I’m just ecstatic with all of the game is offering so far and will spend hundreds of hours in this joyride of carnage! The graphics rule, the story is entertaining, and it has excellent open world implementation and in-game activities. I wasn’t a big fan of Far Cry 2 but they’ve completely turned the game around with Far Cry 3. Love it!
  • Borderlands 2 – I’m quite angry with myself for not having finished this game yet. We’ve played the shit out of the first Borderlands and this is an even better version with a much fuller story and a shit ton more loot! This game also was also close to being my #1.
  • Max Payne 3 – Surprise, surprise! It was nice to play a relatively short game with a good movie-style story that still has decent replay value due to the amazingly fun gameplay and unlockables. The original Max Payne bullet time is tweaked to near perfection now and makes for seamless and joyous action!
  • Civilization V: Gods & Kings – This expansion finally brings Civ V up to where it should have been when first released. I still thirst for more content but it is fucking great to have one of the best games of all time back in full form.
  • The Walking Dead – Wicked game! Constantly making life and death decisions with varying and meaningful outcomes is fun as fuck. An annoying glitch on the Xbox Live release and the fact that this is mostly just an interactive story keeps it from being at the top of my list but it definitely was entertaining and worth playing even for people who haven’t watched the series or read the comics.

Honourable Mention:

  • Transformers Fall of Cybertron
  • Torchlight II (get the damn Mac version released! arg!)
  • Guild Wars 2
  • Fez
  • Kingdoms of Amalur: The Reckoning

ShepardThe ragged face and grey hair helps show that Rogath Shepard has now been through 7 playthroughs over the course of the trilogy.

~ by emperorspore on 01/15/2013.